BrandTrust Future Circle 2017

Telefon E-Mail Social Media
X
Telefon
Nuremberg:
Tel. +49 911 933 57 80

Vienna:
Tel. +43 1 890 2018
Social Media
Follow us:
YouTube Twitter Facebook
Instagram Xing LinkedIn

Silicon Valley and Big Data: The Hidden Side of the Digital Transformation

13th BrandTrust Future Circle on 21/22 September 2017

The digital transformation is in full swing. In many corporations it is the driving force behind processes of rethinking and renewal, the tried and true is called into question. Thinking and acting digitally is an urgent necessity, because internet and digitalization are opening up new opportunities. But what are the moral, political, and social consequences of these seemingly limitless, ever faster opportunities?
This is the topic of this year's BrandTrust Future Circle, held under the motto: Silicon Valley and Big Data: The Hidden Side of the Digital Transformation.

 

 

Core insights of Evgeny Morozov's key note speech:
Who ensures value in a world without property?

He turned down a lucrative offer from Google, because he was more interested in dealing with the effects of the new digital forces from Silicon Valley as a scientist and publicist: Evgeny Morozov

The internet critic from Belarus tends to polarize with his theses on the data society, the power of web corporations, and the wide-spread belief in the internet as the ultimate problem-solver. He sparks important discourse on one of the most important issues of our time. To find out more about his reasoning, we invited Evgeny Morozov to deliver the key note speech at this year's BrandTrust Future Circle in Constance. The topic: "Silicon Valley and Big Data - The Hidden Side of the Digital Transformation".

Does user data serve the establishment of a monopolistic business model?

Morozov makes no secret of it: He distrusts the prevailing public opinion that the big players of the digital world – known by the collective term GAFA – are the saviors of the day. Google, Amazon, Facebook, and Apple present themselves to users as free platforms and lovable everyday problem solvers, when in truth they are commercial enterprises using the "extracted user data" for a new monopolistic business model.

Because they go about it in such charming and simple ways, people all over the world are willing: They trade their data, which reveals their personal habits, for the convenience of getting their daily lives organized more easily. "The value of this convenience is estimated at up to 20,000 Euro per year: This is what people would charge for a year of Google abstinence," cites Morozov from a study by the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

The next target: Artificial Intelligence

In his talk, Morozov draws a clear picture of the digital giant's intentions: In five to ten years, he says, they will stop collecting user data – they will know enough about the behaviors of people worldwide and will be able to concentrate entirely on the creation of "artificial intelligence".

At that point, the currently used business model of selling marketing opportunities on digital platforms could enter a new phase. Data itself will have become a commodity and will no longer be used for customer-focused advertising.

The social consequences of this development are only marginally foreseeable. The fact is: Because users have for a long time relinquished their self-determination to systems, they can now be controlled by these systems: Your self-driving car can be blocked or released by the provider; the books you "bought" on Kindle can be deleted or re-written...

"Somebody will pay in the end"

"The political discussions on the question 'Who owns the data and the recorded behavior patterns?' will rapidly gain momentum in all countries around the world – and will probably be decided differently depending on the cultural background", Morozov predicts.
At present, the economic costs of this development are hardly visible, because the short term gains and advantages predominate. "Somebody will pay in the end," says Morozov – and it could all end in a new social order: The "upper class" will be provided with human services, while the masses have to make do with the "digital variant".

Klaus-Dieter Koch: "Digitalization is not an end in itself."

At the start of the event, BrandTrust founder Klaus-Dieter Koch identified the questions revolving around the digital transformation as "condicio sine qua non" of all corporate strategy consulting projects. "Though we as brand experts have a very unique attitude toward it," says Koch. In the struggle for more customer closeness, digitalization is a great medium and tool – but not an end in itself. "We know that people's behavior drives technology and not the other way round. We spare people from mistaking cause and effect," Koch explains.

BrandTrust's Future Specialist Achim Feige believes that "the Facebook generation will have a new discourse on the topics of freedom, security, and property." Questions on social order will also force new answers in a digitally technologized world: "Where does the human being belong?" and "What is his role?" Brands will establish new levels of meaning where value is generated only at the relationship level.

Conclusion: Don't be afraid of the future?

The fear of a completely digitalized world may be unfounded. It will become a reality – and many will benefit from it with new business models. But leaving it all to the four tech giants because we misinterpret their true intentions would be fatal. Knowledge and the resulting awareness can be the necessary correctives for making sense of ongoing developments.
 

Download: Key learnings

Evgeny Morozov







Rückblick

BrandTrust Future Circle 2017

Telefon E-Mail Social Media
X
Telefon
Nürnberg:
Tel. +49 911 933 57 80

Wien:
Tel. +43 1 890 2018
Social Media
Follow us:
YouTube Twitter Facebook
Instagram Xing LinkedIn

Silicon Valley and Big Data: The Hidden Side of the Digital Transformation

13. BrandTrust Future Circle am 21./22. September 2017

Die digitale Transformation ist in vollem Gange. In vielen Unternehmen ist sie Triebfeder für Prozesse des Überdenkens und der Erneuerung, Bewährtes wird hinterfragt. Digital denken und agieren lautet die dringende Notwendigkeit, denn Internet und Digitalisierung eröffnen neue Chancen. Doch wie sehen die moralischen, politischen und gesellschaftlichen Konsequenzen dieser scheinbar grenzenlosen, immer schneller funktionierenden Opportunitäten aus?

Dieser Thematik stellen wir uns bei dem diesjährigen BrandTrust Fututre Circle unter dem Motto: Silicon Valley and Big Data: The Hidden Side of the Digital Transformation.

 

 

Kernerkenntnisse von Evgeny Morozovs Key Note Speech:
Wer sichert den Wert in einer eigentumslosen Welt?

Er schlug ein lukratives Angebot von Google aus, denn er wollte sich lieber als Wissenschaftler und Publizist mit den Auswirkungen der neuen digitalen Machthaber aus dem Silicon Valley auseinandersetzen: Evgeny Morozov

Der Internet-Kritiker aus Weißrussland polarisiert mit seinen Thesen zur Datengesellschaft, der Macht der Webkonzerne und dem verbreiteten Glauben an das Internet als ultimativer Problemlöser. Er verursacht einen wichtigen Diskurs in einem der bedeutendsten Themengebiete unserer Zeit. Um mehr über seine Argumentation erfahren, luden wir Evgeny Morozov als Redner zu unserem diesjährigen BrandTrust Future Circle in Konstanz ein. Das Thema: "Silicon Valley and Big Data - The Hidden Side of the Digital Transformation".

Dienen Nutzerdaten dem Aufbau eines monopolistischen Geschäftsmodells?

Morozov macht kein Hehl daraus: Er misstraut der öffentlich vorherrschenden Meinung, die Großen der Digitalwelt – unter dem Sammelbegriff GAFA bekannt – seien die Heilsbringer par excellence. Google, Amazon, Facebook und Apple bieten sich den Nutzern als kostenfreie Plattformen und liebenswerte Problemlöser des Alltags an, obwohl sie als kommerzielle Unternehmen die "extrahierten Nutzerdaten" für ein neues monopolistisches Geschäftsmodell verwenden.

Weil dies auf eine äußerst charmante und einfache Art und Weise erfolgt, sind Menschen weltweit dazu bereit: Sie tauschen ihre Daten, die ihr persönliches Verhalten offenbaren, gegen die Convenience, das tägliche Leben einfacher organisiert zu bekommen. "Dieser Wert wird mit bis zu 20.000 Euro pro Jahr eingeschätzt: So viel würde jemand als Gegenwert für eine jährliche Google-Abstinenz verlangen", zitierte Morozov aus einer Studie des Massachussets Institute of Technology.

Das nächste Ziel: Künstliche Intelligenz

Morozov zeichnete während seiner Rede ein klares Bild der Absichten, welche die Digitalgiganten verfolgen: In fünf bis zehn Jahren würden sie aufhören, Nutzerdaten zu erheben – dann wüssten sie genug über das Verhalten der Menschen weltweit und könnten sich nur noch auf das Erschaffen "Künstlicher Intelligenz" konzentrieren.

Spätestens dann könnte das heute noch angewandte Geschäftsmodell, Marketingmöglichkeiten auf digitalen Plattformen zu verkaufen, in eine neue Phase gelangen. Daten werden selbst zur Handelsware geworden sein und werden nicht mehr für kundenfokussiertes Advertising eingesetzt.

Die gesellschaftlichen Konsequenzen dieser Entwicklung sind heute erst marginal absehbar. Fakt ist: Weil die Nutzer ihre Selbstbestimmtheit für eine lange Zeit an Systeme abgegeben haben, werden diese nun über jene Systeme steuerbar: Dein selbstfahrendes Auto kann über den Anbieter geblockt oder freigegeben werden; Deine auf Kindle "gekauften" Bücher können gelöscht oder umgeschrieben werden ...

"Am Ende zahlt jemand die Rechnung"

"Die politischen Diskussionen um die Frage ‚Wem gehören die Daten und die aufgezeichneten Verhaltensmuster?' werden in allen Ländern rasant zunehmen – und wahrscheinlich je nach kulturellem Background auch unterschiedlich entschieden werden", prognostiziert Morozov.

Derzeit sind die volkswirtschaftlichen Kosten dieser Entwicklung kaum sichtbar, weil die kurzfristigen Nutzen und Vorteile überwiegen. "Am Ende zahlt jemand die Rechnung", so Morozov – und alles könnte in einer neuen Gesellschaftsordnung enden: Die "Upper Class" wird mit menschlichen Services bedient, während die Masse die "digitale Variante" davon bekommt.

Klaus-Dieter Koch: "Digitalisierung ist kein Selbstzweck."

BrandTrust Gründer Klaus-Dieter Koch identifizierte zu Beginn des Events die Fragen rund um die digitale Transformation als "condicio sine qua non" sämtlicher Unternehmensstrategie-Beratungsprojekte. "Allerdings haben wir dazu als Markenexperten eine ganz eigene Haltung", so Koch. Im Kampf um mehr Nähe zu den Kunden sei die Digitalisierung ein großartiges Medium und Mittel – aber kein Selbstzweck. "Wir wissen, dass das Verhalten der Menschen die Technologie treibt und nicht umgekehrt. Wir bewahren Unternehmen davor, Ursachen mit Wirkungen zu verwechseln", stellt Koch klar.

BrandTrusts Future Specialist Achim Feige glaubt, dass "die Facebook-Generation die großen Themen von Freiheit, Sicherheit und Eigentum neu diskutieren wird". Auch Fragen zur Gesellschaftsordnung werden in einer digital technologisierten Welt veränderte Antworten erzwingen: "Wohin gehört der Mensch?" und "Was ist seine Rolle?" Marken werden sich dann neue Bedeutungsebenen erarbeiten, in denen der Wert nur noch auf der Beziehungsebene entsteht.

Fazit: Keine Angst vor der Zukunft?

Die Angst vor einer vollkommen digitalisierten Welt könnte unbegründet sein. Es wird sie geben – und viele werden daraus mit neuen Geschäftsmodellen Nutzen ziehen können. Dies den vier Tech-Giganten zu überlassen, weil man deren wahre Absichten missversteht, wäre jedoch fatal. Wissen und das daraus folgende Bewusstsein können die notwendigen Korrektive sein, um laufende Entwicklungen bedeutsam einzuordnen.

 

Download: Key learnings in english